Am I Serving God, Or Mammon?

It is interesting that the Savior taught us that man can serve two masters. In Matthew 6:24 he said:

rich-young-rulerNo man can serve two masters: for either he will hate the one, and love the other; or else he will hold to the one, and despise the other. Ye cannot serve God and mammon. 

I have heard this verse for about as long as I can remember. I always assumed that I was serving God, and not mammon. I am a good guy, I go to church, etc. However, something I never noticed was the connection between vs 24 and vs 25 of Matthew 6. Just today my wife pointed this out to me. Verse 25 continues the discussion;

Therefore I say unto you, take no thought for your life, what ye shall eat, or what ye shall drink; nor yet for your body, what ye shall put on. Is not the life more than meat, and the body than raiment? Behold the fowls of the air: for they sow not, neither do they reap, nor gather into barns; yet your heavenly Father feedeth them. Are ye not much better than they? Which of you by taking thought can add one cubit unto his stature? And why take ye thought for raiment? Consider the lilies of the field, how they grow; they toil not, neither do they spin: And yet I say unto you, That even Solomon in all his glory was not arrayed like one of these. Wherefore, if God so clothe the grass of the field which today is, and tomorrow is cast into the oven, shall he not much more clothe you, If ye are not of little faith? Therefore take no thought, saying, What shall we eat? or, What shall we drink? or, Wherewithal shall we be clothed? (For after all these things do the Gentiles seek:) for your heavenly Father knoweth that ye have need of all these things. But seek ye first the kingdom of God, and his righteousness; and all these things shall be added unto you. Take there for no thought for the morrow: for the morrow shall take thought for the things of itself. Sufficient unto the day is the evil thereof.  (Matthew 6:25-34)

So, all of that follows the instruction that we can’t serve God and mammon. The word ‘therefore’ at the beginning of vs 25 seems to suggest that in order to serve God and not mammon, the instructions in vs 25-34 were given, telling us to take no thought for our life, what we will eat or wear. Christ instructed us to seek the kingdom of God, and our basics needs would be provided.  The phrase, ‘take no thought’ is used 3 times in those verses.

So, does that mean if we are ‘taking thought’ for these things that we are serving mammon instead of God? Hmmm, seems like a possibility. Let me know what you think by commenting below.

About Arden Compton

I love helping people be the best that they can be. Addiction, stress, limiting beliefs & emotions, and bothersome memories are my specialties. I am happily married to my wife Cheryl, we have 7 robust, growing children. I like to ballroom dance, play volleyball, and enjoy the beauty of nature!
This entry was posted in Daily Bread, Zion and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.