Dream: What Can I Trust?

Last night I had a dream, most of it I don’t remember. What I do remember was I was in a building, and there was a metal railing; if a person fell over the railing the fall would be deadly. For some reason I climbed over the railing, but I put my foot under the bottom rung of the railing on the floor. My hands were on the railing, and it didn’t feel very stable.  I looked to see what the railing was anchored to, and I could see bolt going into crumbly concrete.  I thought to myself, “I don’t think this railing will hold me, I better get back on the other side.”  But as I put my foot on the bottom rung of the railing with all my weight, and attempted to climb over, I could feel the railing giving way and I was falling backwards.  Suddenly the dream went to something else, but I don’t remember what. Eventually I found myself back at the railing, but it was as if I didn’t quite remember what I had learned about the railing. I again found myself on the other side of the railing, discovering that it wasn’t as secure as I had thought. Again as I put my foot on the bottom rung of the railing so I could get back to safety I felt the railing giving way and I was falling back.  Suddenly I saw the hand of Jesus Christ reaching out from the safe side of the railing, I saw the print of the nail in his hand and wrist. I reached out, grabbed his  hand, and cried, “Lord save me!” and he pulled me to safety.  Then I immediately woke up, I did not see more of him than his hand and forearm.

I pondered on what the dream meant, what the railing represented.  After a few minutes of pondering the inspiration came that the railing represented “the things I could see.”  We tend to trust what we can see, we think the things we see give us security somehow.  The message to me was that things I can see, that I think I can depend on, if I put all my weight on them, putting all my trust in the things I can see, the things I can see will fail. Ultimately Jesus Christ is the only source of security and safety; spiritually and temporally.

About Arden Compton

I love helping people be the best that they can be. Addiction, stress, limiting beliefs & emotions, and bothersome memories are my specialties. I am happily married to my wife Cheryl, we have 7 robust, growing children. I like to ballroom dance, play volleyball, and enjoy the beauty of nature!
This entry was posted in trust in God. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

